co Types Of HTML 5 Content |

Since 1998, the widely accepted generation of HTML in use has been HTML 4. Lately, HTML 5 has been in development and will likely see a public release within the next couple of years. Every now and then I stop by the W3C website and see how it’s going, checking on the latest developments and the direction of the Web’s most prolific programming language.

One of the more interesting developments is in the categories of content that HTML 5 editors are offering. Here they are in a nutshell:

  • Metadata
  • Flow Content
  • Sectioning Content
  • Heading Content
  • Phrasing Content
  • Embedded Content
  • Interactive Content

All of these types of content are in current use, of course, but HTML 5 provides definitions for them and specific protocols for deploying them within the HTML code. Some of these, with HTML 4, require the use of other programming languages such as CSS and JavaScript.

While HTML 5 will still require the use of other programming languages, it is intended to enhance the use and deployability of these content types within those languages. In that regard, it’s a huge step up from HTML 4.

I see the most potential for HTML 5 being in the embedded and interactive content categories. With Web 2.0 fully entrenched and almost every website these days taking on social features, these content categories will likely become more widely used as HTML 5 makes it easier for web developers to incorporate them into their site designs.